He would also be the second St Kilda player to win consecutive Brownlow Medals and the tenth St Kilda Brownlow Medalist.

In 1964, St Kilda were defeated in the final of the Consolation Night Series competition by Footscray 11.12 (78) to 11.7 (73). Games: 115 (St Kilda), 58 (Sydney) Career: 1988-1992, 1996-1998 (St Kilda), 1993-1995 (Sydney). Record away game attendances. The mid-1930s saw the club consistently vying for finals berths, finally making it in 1939 by qualifying fourth after a record run of eight consecutive victories and an overall record of 13 wins and five losses. They did not fare well in 2001 or 2002 either, finishing second-last in both seasons; the time spent at the bottom allowed St Kilda to recruit players such as Justin Koschitzke, Nick Riewoldt, Nick Dal Santo and Brendon Goddard, who were mainstays of the team over the following decade. Both teams were undefeated prior to the round 14 clash. They scored a notable five-point victory over the eventual three-time premiers Brisbane in Round 11. 25, 1994 National Draft. [102] At each gala event, at least one inductee is selected to be elevated to club legend status. St Kilda then defeated the Western Bulldogs by 24 points in the 2nd Preliminary Final – 13.10 (88) to 8.16 (64) to qualify for their second consecutive grand final.

The speedy Saint established himself as one of the best half-back flankers in the league, despite being doubted for his small frame and slight figure. The most common variation on that basic design through the years has been the ribbing area around the sleeves and neck having various alternative designs. Poster St Kilda Saints AFL & Australian Rules Football Memorabilia, Poster St Kilda Saints 1990s AFL & Australian Rules Football Memorabilia, Poster St Kilda Saints 2000s AFL & Australian Rules Football Memorabilia, Poster St Kilda Saints 2010s AFL & Australian Rules Football Memorabilia, St Kilda Saints Team Set AFL & Australian Rules Football Trading Cards, St Kilda Saints AFL, Australian Rules Football Memorabilia, St Kilda Saints AFL & Australian Rules Football Trading Cards, St Kilda Saints Australian Football Merchandise, 1960s St Kilda Saints AFL & Australian Rules Football Memorabilia, Beanies St Kilda Saints AFL & Australian Rules Football Merchandise. St Kilda won five matches for the year and finished 16th on the ladder. (66). However, after a mid season dip in form which saw them lose three games in a row by over six goals to the Sydney Swans (50 points), the Western Bulldogs (40 points) and the Adelaide Crows (57 points), coupled with late season losses to Melbourne and Richmond, St Kilda's finals chances were dismissed, eventually leading to the Saints finishing the season at 11th place on the ladder with 11 wins and 11 losses. The club finished ninth in 1962 with nine wins and nine losses. Continuing financial pressures and defeats saw the club remain in the bottom three for every season from 1979 to 1986. The club finished second in the 1965 premiership season after being beaten by Essendon 14.21 (105) to 9.16 (70) in the 1965 VFL Grand Final. An adaptable player who was strong down back and up forward, Shane Wakelin became an important part of the Saints’ 1990s line-up alongside his identical twin brother, Darryl. One of the Saints’ most resolute full-backs for over a decade, whose commitment and passion were matched by his defensive prowess. Howell had tied with Bob Skilton in the 1959 Brownlow Medal count. The first mention of a football team in St Kilda was made in 1859. In 1955, after one of the club's worst seasons, Alan Killigrew was appointed coach. [44] St Kilda were defeated by Geelong in the qualifying finals,[45] defeated Collingwood in the semi-finals[46] and were eliminated by the eventual premiers, Hawthorn, in the preliminary final. The current club sponsors are Dare Iced Coffee & Pepper Money whose logos appear alternating on the front and back of the uniform for home and away games. The latest St Kilda Saints club news, match reports, player news, injuries, draft news, comment and analysis from The Sydney Morning Herald [42], Jason Gram became the third St Kilda player to win the Michael Tuck Medal after being judged best player on the ground in the 2008 NAB Cup Final. In 1959, Verdun Howell became the fourth St Kilda player to win the Brownlow Medal. The 1968 season saw St Kilda qualify fourth with 14 wins, 5 losses and a draw. St Kilda Football Club's Hall of Fame was established in 2003. Darryl Wakelin was one of the Saints’ most prominent backmen throughout the 1990s, and alongside his twin brother Shane, were two of the club’s key defensive pillars. [93][94], From 2018 the ground has again become the training, entertainment, member and community base for the Saints and the primary community football ground in south-eastern Melbourne region. The crest is an iconic feature of the club's jumper – a well-known and recognisable symbol of the club. We're taking a trip down memory lane to celebrate the ‘90s as part of our new Through the Ages series. [16] In March 1964, the club arranged a deal to move its training and administrative base to the large Moorabbin Oval in Linton St, Moorabbin, approximately 10 km south-east of St Kilda, starting from the 1965 season. The club voted in favour of the move in a weighted vote of members and shareholders by a margin of 8750 to 6555 in July 1992. Goals average 38.0 career goals ranked 8th for the year. The club failed to build on competitive seasons in 1975 and 1976. No additional import charges at delivery!

On 11 June 1873 another meeting was held to appoint the final committee. [62] St Kilda midfielder Lenny Hayes won the Norm Smith Medal for the player judged the best on ground in the match, making him the first St Kilda player to ever win the medal. St Kilda were one of the eight clubs that took part in the inaugural VFL season in 1897. 1966 saw St Kilda qualify for finals series in consecutive years for the first time since 1907–08. The buyer is responsible for return postage costs. There are 50 items available. Darrel Baldock, who captained the 1966 grand final team, was named as captain and Allan Jeans, who coached St Kilda for a record 17 years, was named as coach. Although there were some prominent players like Harold Bray, Keith Drinan, Peter Bennett and later Neil Roberts, St Kilda were rarely competitive in the 1940s. [79] The Saints also added to their football department with former player Sean Dempster joining as a fitness coach, while former Hawthorn legend Jarryd Roughead as well as David Rath and Ben Robbins also moved to the club. Although the bulk of his career was spent at the Blues, Matthew Lappin’s decorated career began with the red, white and black. The current club was started in 1873, based on the South Yarra Football Club which had closed the year before. 1973 saw the club qualify for a record fourth consecutive finals series in fifth place with 12 wins. A consistent and competitive season saw St Kilda qualify third at the end of the home and away rounds and qualify for the finals series with 16 wins and 6 losses. St Kilda defeated Geelong by six points. [49], In Round 14, on 5 July, St Kilda played the premiership favourites Geelong, a club they had not beaten since 2006. The club plays in the Australian Football League, the sport's premier league.